Compare
Fresha vs myAthenaAI
Fresha: Booking software plus consumer marketplace for beauty, wellness and some health businesses. myAthenaAI: the AI-native clinic management system for aesthetic and beauty clinics — booking, clinic management, stock and marketing in one system, with Athena, the AI built in, doing the work.
The short answer
Fresha is clinic software your team operates. It keeps the diary and the records; you still do the answering, chasing, booking and marketing.
myAthenaAI does the work for you. It's a full clinic management system (booking, client records, stock, payments, staff) with Athena built in. She knows the clinic, and she answers every WhatsApp, Instagram DM, Messenger message, text, email and phone call, and books, moves and takes deposits inside the diary. She runs the reminders, follow-ups and rebooking, answers anything you ask about the business, and makes the marketing: campaigns, images, before-and-afters, content and your website.
- AI front desk: myAthenaAI 9/9 · Fresha 4/9
- Owner assistant: myAthenaAI 4/4 · Fresha 1/4
- Running the clinic: myAthenaAI 12/12 · Fresha 11/12
- Marketing and content: myAthenaAI 12/12 · Fresha 5/12
- Smart Site: myAthenaAI 5/5 · Fresha 3/5
- Ads and tracking: myAthenaAI 5/5 · Fresha 3/5
Why myAthenaAI
- It covers more of a clinic's work: 53 of the 54 features we compared, against Fresha's 31 (counting its paid add-ons and partial versions). Included as standard: myAthenaAI 53, Fresha 16.
- It gives you time back. Other systems keep the diary while you do the work. Athena does the answering, booking, chasing, follow-ups and marketing herself, on every channel and the phone, 24/7. See your own hours back.
- It has every angle covered. Front desk, owner assistant, the clinic's running, marketing and content, your website and your ad tracking, in one clinic management system with one login, instead of booking software plus add-ons plus five other tools.
- It's built for appointment businesses, by people who've run them. Made specifically for aesthetic clinics, med spas, salons and practitioner-led clinics, by people who have built and run clinics.
- It's AI-native, not bolted on. Athena runs inside the system, so she knows the clinic: the same Athena who answers your clients works from your diary, client history, treatments, prices and policies, and she's the one you ask about takings and stock. Other systems add an AI receptionist on top; in myAthenaAI the receptionist is one of the jobs she does.
- It's built for where clinic software is going. The whole system was built around Athena, and new capabilities ship every week.
Feature counts are from this page's comparison, checked 3 November 2026 against each vendor's own website.
How many hours a day would she give you back?
With other clinic software, the software keeps the diary and you still do the work: replying, chasing, booking, following up and posting. With myAthenaAI, Athena does that work, so the hours come back to you and the bookings that slip through missed calls and no-shows come back too.
Every clinic is different, so we don't print a made-up number. Answer eleven quick questions and see your hours a day back and bookings won back a month, with every assumption shown.
Get my estimateFeature by feature
| Feature | ||
|---|---|---|
| Who does the work | ||
| Who answers, books, chases and markets | Athena does itAthena answers, books, chases, follows up and makes the marketing. You approve and treat. | You and your teamThe software gives you tools; you or your staff operate them. |
| AI built in, not sold as an add-on | IncludedThe AI is the product: one employee across every job, not an add-on. | Paid add-on / higher planAI Concierge is an add-on: £23.95 messaging or £79.95 calls+messaging per location/month. source |
| Hours given back and bookings won back | Get your estimateHours a day back and bookings won back, worked out from your own week. | You still do the workBooking software saves some admin; the answering, chasing, booking and marketing are still yours. |
| AI front desk | ||
| AI replies on WhatsApp | IncludedReplies by herself, 24/7, and books from the chat. | Not listed on their siteWhatsApp is one-way reminders only; AI Concierge pages name no WhatsApp channel; two-way WhatsApp listed as upcoming. source |
| AI replies to Instagram DMs | IncludedAnswers DMs (and the story they replied to) and books from the chat. | Not listed on their siteAI replies in Client Connect only; Fresha says Instagram messaging integration is coming soon. source |
| AI replies on Facebook Messenger | IncludedSame brain and booking power on Facebook Messenger. | Not listed on their siteAI replies in Client Connect only; Fresha says Meta messaging integration is coming soon. source |
| AI replies to texts (SMS) | IncludedReplies to texts and books. | Paid add-on / higher planLaunch blog says AI Concierge add-on handles SMS; help centre describes texts as one-way. Unconfirmed. source |
| AI replies to emails | IncludedAnswers client emails and can book. | Not listed on their siteAI replies inside Client Connect chat; clients get email notifications, but no AI handling of inbound emails found. source |
| AI answers the phone | IncludedAnswers in a natural voice, knows returning callers, books during the call. | Paid add-on / higher planAI Concierge calls plan (£79.95/location/month) answers calls and books; call handling only in select regions. source |
| Books, moves and cancels inside the conversation | IncludedBooks, moves, cancels, adds or swaps treatments in the real diary. | Paid add-on / higher planAI Concierge add-on books, reschedules and cancels in the live calendar; owner chooses allowed actions. source |
| Sends deposit and payment links in the conversation | IncludedSends deposit, balance or payment links; the amount comes from the system. | Paid add-on / higher planLaunch blog says AI Concierge can introduce upfront payments in conversation; payment links not specified. source |
| Understands voice notes | IncludedUnderstands WhatsApp and Instagram voice notes. | Not listed on their siteClient Connect supports images, documents and emojis; no voice note handling found. source |
| Owner assistant | ||
| Ask anything about your business | IncludedAsk by chat or voice: takings, gaps, no-shows, top clients, stock. 50+ instant answers. | Not listed on their siteNo owner-facing AI Q&A found; 'more advanced insights' listed as coming in 2026 roadmap. source |
| Tell her to do it (move, cancel, message, block time) | Included"Move Sarah to 3pm", "block Friday", "text her": hundreds of actions, by role. | Not listed on their siteNo owner AI assistant that acts in the system found; only AI feature listed is AI Concierge. source |
| Growth ideas from your own numbers | IncludedOffer and campaign ideas from your margins, quiet days and lapsed clients. | Not listed on their siteNo AI growth suggestions found; AI Concierge dashboard reports calls and bookings handled. source |
| Reports and daily brief | IncludedReports, spoken day and client briefs, optional daily and weekly digests. | IncludedReporting on both plans; richer Insights reporting is a paid add-on (£7.95 per team member). source |
| Running the clinic | ||
| Online booking | IncludedOn your Smart Site, or straight from the conversation. | IncludedOnline booking via direct links, client app, marketplace profile; Facebook/Instagram booking free on both plans. source |
| Diary and staff calendar | IncludedYour real diary: rooms, practitioners, treatment times, rota. | IncludedCalendar and appointment scheduling on both plans; Independent plan limited to one calendar column. source |
| Deposits and no-show protection | IncludedDeposits at booking, chased automatically; saved-card charges; trusted-client exemptions. | IncludedUpfront payments, deposits and no-show/cancellation fees on both plans; requires Fresha payments. source |
| Fills cancelled slots automatically | IncludedA freed slot is offered to waitlisted clients and booked when one says yes. | IncludedWaitlist on both plans; optional mode automatically notifies waitlisted clients when a slot opens. source |
| Appointment reminders | IncludedWhatsApp, SMS or email reminders, plus confirmations and change notices. | IncludedAutomated reminders by email (free), text or WhatsApp (allowance then per-message charge). source |
| Rebooks clients who went quiet | IncludedSpots who's due back and reaches out in your voice. | IncludedAutomated messages include rebooking prompts and win-back messages for clients who have not visited. source |
| Aftercare and check-in messages | IncludedAftercare, day-3 and day-7 check-ins, progress-photo requests. | PartialAutomatic thank-you after checkout; aftercare text can be added to email updates only, texts fixed format. source |
| Consent and medical forms | IncludedSent before the visit, signed in the client's members area. | IncludedConsultation forms listed on both plans; can send automatically when service is booked. source |
| AI-written treatment notes | IncludedDictate or type; Athena tidies the treatment note. | Not listed on their siteNo AI note writing found; richer forms and notes listed as coming in 2026 roadmap. source |
| Stock | IncludedLevels, orders, suppliers, usage forecast, margin per treatment. | IncludedRetail and inventory management listed on both plans. source |
| Drafts reorders; reads serial numbers from a photo | IncludedDrafts reorders of what's low for your approval; reads serials from a label photo. | IncludedStock orders auto-fill low-stock or due-for-reorder products to email suppliers; not AI, no photo scanning. source |
| Payments | IncludedStripe and Square: payment links, deposits, saved cards, refunds. | IncludedIntegrated online and in-person payments, terminals from £99, Tap to Pay, Klarna. source |
| Marketing and content | ||
| Email / SMS / WhatsApp campaigns | IncludedEmail, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns and sequences. | IncludedEmail and text blast campaigns; email allowance then £0.02 each, marketing texts £0.08 each. source |
| AI builds the campaign (audience and messages) | IncludedAthena picks the audience and offer and writes the drafts; you approve. | PartialBlast campaigns have AI 'Enhance' to write email text; audience is chosen manually. source |
| Revenue from each campaign | IncludedBookings and revenue from each campaign. | IncludedEach blast campaign shows total appointments and total sales generated. source |
| AI images and flyers in your brand | IncludedTreatment images and promo flyers, with your real logo and colours. | Not listed on their siteSmart Website AI generates text only; no AI image generation found. source |
| Before-and-after assistant | IncludedAuto-aligns, checks and brands side-by-sides; won't send without consent. | Not listed on their siteNo before-and-after image builder found; only AI feature listed is AI Concierge. source |
| Content research (trends, viral videos, search questions) | IncludedViral aesthetics videos and competitor ads analysed; the questions people search. | Not listed on their siteNo content research tools found on features page. source |
| Content planner | IncludedPlans the week and reminds you on the day; you post. | Not listed on their siteNo social content planner found; social features are Facebook/Instagram booking links. source |
| Writes posts and captions | IncludedPost ideas, captions and shot-by-shot storyboards. | Not listed on their siteNo tool for creating social posts or captions found; AI used for website and review replies. source |
| Writes your blog and newsletter | IncludedWrites and publishes SEO blog posts and a newsletter. | Not listed on their siteNo AI blog or newsletter writer found; email blasts have AI text 'Enhance' only. source |
| Voiceovers in your own voice | IncludedVoice Studio: scripts and voiceovers, even WhatsApp voice notes, in your voice. | Not listed on their siteAI Concierge calls use a customisable AI voice; no owner voice cloning found. source |
| Review requests | IncludedAsks for a Google review after the visit. | IncludedAutomatic thank-you message links to leave a review; Google review prompts are a paid add-on. source |
| AI-drafted review replies | IncludedDrafts on-brand replies for you to post; turns good reviews into images. | Paid add-on / higher planAI Concierge add-on drafts and can auto-publish replies to Fresha and Google reviews. source |
| Smart Site | ||
| Clinic website | IncludedThe Smart Site: your clinic's website, built for you. | Paid add-on / higher planSmart Website add-on (£12.95/month) with AI-assisted builder and custom domain. source |
| A page per treatment, with prices and booking | IncludedEvery treatment gets its own page with prices, aftercare and booking. | Not listed on their siteSmart Website syncs services; separate page per service not stated. source |
| Courses and upgrades offered at booking | IncludedRecommends a multi-session course at the booking step, with the per-session price. | IncludedUp to five add-on services or one membership offered per service during online booking. source |
| AI on the website (chat or voice) | IncludedVisitors chat or talk to Athena; she answers and sends them to book. | Not listed on their siteNo AI chat widget on Smart Website found; AI Concierge covers Client Connect and calls. source |
| Built to be found by ChatGPT and AI search | IncludedStructured pages, llms.txt and IndexNow so ChatGPT and Google can read and quote you. | Paid add-on / higher planSmart Website add-on (£12.95/month) has per-page SEO titles and descriptions, AI-written; schema not stated. source |
| Ads and tracking | ||
| Traces bookings to the ad that made them | IncludedWhich source and which Meta ad brought each lead, booking and pound. | PartialFree Google Ads and Meta Pixel links send booking events; attribution is viewed in Google/Meta, not Fresha. source |
| Server-side tracking | IncludedFirst-party, server-side tracking through your own site address. | Not listed on their siteTracking via Meta Pixel and Google Analytics add-ons; no server-side tracking found. source |
| Sends bookings and revenue back to ad platforms | IncludedBookings and payments, with value, sent to Meta, Google, TikTok, ChatGPT and Microsoft. | PartialFree Google Ads link reports completed bookings as conversions; server-side method and Meta CAPI not stated. source |
| Syncs client lists as ad audiences | IncludedClient and lead lists kept in sync as ad audiences; opt-outs left out. | PartialFree Meta Pixel add-on builds audiences from booking activity; client-list sync not found. source |
| AI ad advisor (what to back, pause, make next) | IncludedTells you which ads to back or pause and briefs the next one. | Not listed on their siteNo AI ad recommendations or ad performance analysis found. source |
| Also compared | ||
| Consumer marketplace for new clients | Not offeredNot a marketplace: Athena works your own channels and clients. | IncludedFresha consumer marketplace; 20% one-time fee (min £4) on new clients found there. source |
| Treatment records and photos | IncludedClient history, notes, photos and serial numbers on every appointment. | PartialClient notes and file uploads; help centre suggests files for before/after photos. No dedicated charting tool found. source |
| Two-way WhatsApp inbox | IncludedOne inbox per client across every channel; staff can take over any time. | Not listed on their siteWhatsApp used for one-way reminders/updates only; two-way chat (Client Connect) runs in Fresha app/email. source |
| Instagram DMs in the inbox | IncludedInstagram DMs in the same inbox. | PartialInstagram 'Book now' button via Meta integration; no Instagram DM replies or booking found. source |
✓ Included · £ Paid add-on or higher plan · ◐ Partial · — Not listed on their official site (it may exist; we couldn't find it). Competitors checked 3 November 2026 against each vendor's own website and help centre, with a source on every cell of the one-to-one pages. Spotted something out of date? Email hello@myathenaai.com and we'll correct it.
Fresha, Phorest, Pabau, Cliniko, Timely, Ovatu, Boulevard, Vagaro, Mindbody and Square are trademarks of their respective owners; their names and logos are shown only to identify their products. myAthenaAI isn't affiliated with or endorsed by them.
myAthenaAI notes: answering clients on every channel and the phone is on the Assistant + Reception plan. Tracking and analytics (server-side tracking, conversion feedback, audience sync, per-ad attribution and the AI ad advisor) are included. Automations are switched on per clinic.
Where myAthenaAI goes further
What myAthenaAI does that we couldn't find on Fresha's own site:
- AI front desk: AI replies on WhatsApp; AI replies to Instagram DMs; AI replies on Facebook Messenger; AI replies to emails; Understands voice notes.
- Owner assistant: Ask anything about your business; Tell her to do it (move, cancel, message, block time); Growth ideas from your own numbers.
- Running the clinic: AI-written treatment notes.
- Marketing and content: AI images and flyers in your brand; Before-and-after assistant; Content research (trends, viral videos, search questions); Content planner; Writes posts and captions; Writes your blog and newsletter; Voiceovers in your own voice.
- Smart Site: A page per treatment, with prices and booking; AI on the website (chat or voice).
- Ads and tracking: Server-side tracking; AI ad advisor (what to back, pause, make next).
Where Fresha may be the better fit
- Consumer marketplace for new clients: Fresha consumer marketplace; 20% one-time fee (min £4) on new clients found there.
- Pricing: UK, GBP excl. 20% VAT: Independent £14.95/month (1 team member); Team £9.95 per bookable team member/month; Enterprise custom (20+ members). 7-day trial. Marketplace: 20% one-time commission on new marketplace clients (min £4), returning clients free. Payments 1.40%+£0.25 online, 1.19%+£0.20 in person. Texts/WhatsApp: 20 free per member/month then £0.06/text, £0.05-£0.10/WhatsApp. Add-ons: AI Concierge £23.95 (messaging) or £79.95 (calls+messaging, 200 min then £0.48/min) per location/month; Smart Website £12.95/month; Insights £7.95/member; Google Rating Boost £12.95; Client Loyalty £49.95. source myAthenaAI shares pricing when your intake opens, and waitlist clinics get 3 months free.
- Track record: Fresha is an established product; myAthenaAI is in early access, installing a limited number of clinics by hand.
- What myAthenaAI doesn't do (yet): she doesn't make outbound calls or transfer calls; she replies in English; she plans and writes your social posts, but you post them; review replies are drafted for you to post.
Switching from Fresha
When you apply, we ask which system you book clients in with today so we know what we'd move your clients and diary over from. Every clinic is installed by hand, and Athena is trained on your treatments, prices, policies and tone before she answers anyone. Before you move, read what to check before switching booking software.
